2020 County Junior Championship

2020 County Junior Championship

On June 23 & 24, 2020 the Sacramento County Junior Championship was conducted at Cherry Island GC. Thanks to all the competitors and volunteers, and especially to Cherry Island staff who helped to make this a successful championship. It took a lot of work behind the scenes to put this tournament on with all the protocols for the Covid-19 virus that had to be adhered to for JGANC, Sacramento County and Cherry Island. I need to say a special thank you to Mary Hui at JGANC for all her help with entries and withdraws. She was always there to help when I called. Also a special thank you to Janis for her patience in showing me how to work with JGANC computer programming for the tournament.

With all said we had a fantastic tournament with 106 entries, using 10-minute interval tee times and limited time at the practice facilities. The weather was hot, to say the least, but we were allowed to provide water at the first and tenth tee boxes. A volunteer had to hand out the water to the kids (no diving in the ice chests). Bill Perley our rules person, indicated that the kids seemed to have forgotten a lot the rules, since they had not played tournament golf for several months.

Now to the results of the tournament, the new low gross boys winner was Paramdeep Sodhi, he shot a 63 for the first round followed by 70 for a total of 133 and the new gross girls winner was Hannah Harrison, she bounced back from 77 the first day to shoot a 68 on day two for a total of 145.

Ryan Calcagno had a hole-in-one on hole 13 the first day with a yardage of 133, the council provided him with a dozen golf balls of his choice – course they were Prov-1’s.


Low Gross Boy – Paradeep Sodhi 133
Low Gross Girl – Hanna Harrison 145

Boys 16-18
1st – Jake Aberle 136
2nd – Jason McElroy 141
3rd – Jack Deaner 143

Boys 14-15
1st – Ryan Calcagno 147
2nd – Reese Sato 148
3rd – Mitchell Scott 151

Boys 12-13
1st – Ishdeep Sodhi 141
2nd – Landon Abalateo 152
3rd – Marcus Leong 155

Girls 16-18
1st – Skylar May 146
2nd – Yeowon Jang 146
3rd – Amelia Greenlee 146

Girls 14-15
1st – Ellie Bushnell 146
2nd – Lauren Pierce 147
3rd – Haley Wong 148

Girls 12-13
1st – Petra Yee 152
2nd – Erica Villegas 156
3rd – Sabina Han 159